Page 2 of 3

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:27 am
by RedSnappa
My trisoup is done. But now I get this error when I try to test the map:
Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 44104728 bytes from the main zone

What do I do now? My com_hunkmegs is already set to 1024.

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:22 am
by vulture
how many brushes do you have?! my map had something like 150k brushes and I didn't need to set mine above 128! how big is the .bsp ?

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:26 am
by RedSnappa
Brush count is 15855 and entity count is 288 (though this will grow later). BSP size is 17779 KB with just a meta compile. I haven't done VIS or lighting yet. I know I have to make more than the bounding box structural, but I didn't want to bother with that until I had the layout finished. Detail brushes into structural is the next step, unless I have to do something else to eliminate this error.

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:36 am
by vulture
I only have my bounding boxes structural. It always saved space for me. Everything else is detail. Your BSP size seems huge considering you only have 16k brushes. Do you have lots of large open volumes or something?

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:00 am
by RedSnappa
My current map goes from -3584 to +3584 in X, -2400 to +2400 in Y, and 0 to 1120 in Z. I have made a map that was larger than this that ran properly, but it required the -notjunc command to compile. This one compiles with or without -notjunc, but won't run.

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:27 am
by vulture
That's really small... I don't understand how your bsp is so big... :P what's your map look like? Something must be wrong =/

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:28 pm
by RedSnappa
Here it is:
arctica17.jpg

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:06 pm
by vulture
That is a lot of terrain type stuff in one room, maybe that's why, I dunno. I remember "outdoor" style maps always worked really poorly in the q3 engine. But I thought that was mainly a vis issue not a meta issue.. don't know what to tell you. :P Have you tried compiling it in a more modern q3map2? (e.g. mine or xonotic's?)

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:57 pm
by Rylius
I really don't see how that can be almost 16k brushes - can you post a screenshot of the 2D top-down view?

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:10 pm
by vulture
What's the dimensions on your terrain grid? Like how many brushes across each direction? That could add up fast if you did it really high quality.