Welcome to CMM

The CMM forum software was recently upgraded, some things may have changed and some things may be broken or not working. Please let me know by PM or on IRC if you have any problems using this forum.

Also, I've removed the skybox and shader links for now, the shader generator page was being abused and as we're moving towards a ue4 mapping base, they're redundant.

A new issue

General mapping discussions
User avatar
banksy
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Australia

A new issue

Postby banksy » Tue Aug 06, 2013 6:33 am

So previously i would compile my map and play it, and all textures in the .pk3 would be in game, although now for some odd reason, only the .tga images show, and the jpeg do not. This is a issue as .tga are quite large images, and my map which still has much texturing to go, is already a 20mb+ .pk3 file.
Any ways to reduce the size while keeping the same texture qualities?
Image

RedSnappa
Posts: 323
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: North Carolina (USA)

Re: A new issue

Postby RedSnappa » Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:36 pm

I don't worry about .pk3 size too much. A large map will frequently be 60 MB+ with bump and normal maps.
[LCDLC]Snappa
LCDLC Mapmaking Dept.
Maps finished: Hellhouse, Sorry, Worrior 1-20
Maps modded: CubeOrigin
Maps in release candidate: Blockforts, Cannons 1, Hotzone, Icecastle
Maps in beta: Arctica, Cannons 2, Cerulean-River, Igloo, Skygarden, Spacestation
Maps in alpha: Merlin, Totem

User avatar
banksy
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Australia

Re: A new issue

Postby banksy » Sun Aug 11, 2013 12:10 pm

Not a problem then :)
Image

FrankieV
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 3:08 pm

Re: A new issue

Postby FrankieV » Sun Aug 11, 2013 9:34 pm

Well with out seeing the build asset it's difficult to say what the root of the problem is.

By default the engine will load in TGA as the preferred texture unless told to use JPG as defined by absolute targeting or if the TGA version is not in the texture path.

So if texture path = textures/my_textures/texture_name

then if TGA is present that’s the texture that is loaded even if a JPG version is present. Delete the TGA then the JPG should load as the alternative.

The alternative is an absolute texture path as in

path = textures/my_textures/texture_name.jpg

The problem with absolute paths is it can and will break all scripting and shader paths.

But this brings up a rather interesting question.

Why would anyone want to design at the lowest expected quality in the first place?

From top down you should be building based on the best quality of detail possible based on available resources, limitations, and fixed budgets. That's to say forget about what has to be done to make an acceptable package as there is no guarantee that someone would be willing to download your map to play it regardless of the file size.

There are few points to consider here.

If you make the “must have” map people will download it no matter the file size.

Quality sells.

It's way easier to make less out of to much than to try and make not enough do more.

My advice to my guys is to build “it” to the best of their ability and vision and then we will talk about what is necessary later as to whats required to make a much more reasonable package.

Also of interest a JPG has the same identical memory foot print as a TGA so the only reason to go JPG in the first place is to maintain a smaller file size.


Return to “Mapping Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests

cron